What are you willing to GIVE UP?

This question was posed to me during a coaching session I had with a former ER Physician.  I was struggling to move forward – getting stuck in the comfortable.

The question is brilliant if you think about it.  In order for any of us to gain new ground or to blaze new trails….. something usually has to end.

Christ says He makes all things NEW.  When we accept Christ for who He is (the Son of God) and what He has done (died in your place for the forgiveness of sin), scripture tells us we become a “new” creation, the old is gone and the new has come (1 Corinthians 5:17). When we surrender to Christ, we lose: we lose our struggle to get it right on our own, we lose our pride and stubborness, we lose our will and our “own way”, we lose our life.

Ah but look what we gain….

New Life!  A new life in Christ is becoming the person you were originally intended to be – the first prototype, before the corruption of sin and the brokeness of life took it’s toll.

You see the pattern?  The new comes at a price – – – the loss of the old.

Sometimes the greatest obstacle in moving forward in this life is the last great thing that happened.  We cling to it like a trophy.  Often times comfort or success is the enemy of real progress.

Do you know real change is necessary?  Do you have dreams?  Do you have things you’ve always hoped to accomplish? Have you ever asked God why you are here and then He gives you a glimpse and it freezes you in your tracks?  ME TOO!

Maybe you are standing at the brink of the NEW…. and so I ask you what Norbert asked me, “What are you willing to give up to take that next step in moving forward?”  Is it….

  • Fear
  • Rejection
  • Pride
  • Other people’s opinions
  • Old habits
  • Good things/treasures

At some point we just need to trust and decide to let go and let God take over.

The answer to the question came to me quickly.  I knew deep inside what I was holding onto too tightly.  Most of the time we know, so don’t think too hard.  God reminds us daily in more ways than one.  I answered my coach through teary eyes. But behind those tears was an understanding of a God who loves me, wants what is best for me and will keep pushing me to become what He originally created.  My part was to give up, surrender, and let God do what only He can do.

Today… I am walking a new road with clearly familiar features.  I am a minister of the Gospel of Christ no matter what road I am on.  I am not 100% sure where this road leads… but I know it is ordained and He is doing a “new” thing.

Give it up & get moving!

Leave a Reply

