Peace with tears…

We all make 100’s of decisions everyday; from what to wear, to what to eat, to what we say and to whom, when and how.  So many of our decisions are not 100% thought out.  We do things because that’s what we’ve always done; I drink coffee every morning because that is what I have been doing for the last 25 years.  Some decisions are more conscience and deliberate; I will get on that treadmill today because I need to change my health habits.

I think the toughest decisions are when we have to prioritize and choose that the one thing is more important in the grand scheme of things than the other thing.  When we are faced with a tough decision like this, the end result is a degree of disappointment for someone, somehow.  Do I choose the 88th birthday party of a parent in failing health or the state semi-final game for my High School daughter?  You could argue that both are important.  The dad may not be here for his 89th birthday.  The daughter has only one more season before she graduates and this is a once in a lifetime experience for her. Where, God, do my priorities lie here?  I want both but I have to choose.

Ever been in a situation where you had to choose and you had to take a look at your priorities?  It doesn’t happen too often that the circumstances are so drastic but everyday we are making decisions of priority.  We all have the same number of hours in a day.  What we do with that time is a reflection of our priorities.  Sometimes big, tough decisions can make us realize we need to have our priorities more in focus everyday.   Maybe God lets those painful decisions come before us to remind us that our time here is temporary and, for now, we HAVE to choose so choose well because you don’t get the time back.

So where do you go for wisdom?   I used to just rely on myself or what everyone else thought I should do, usually leaving me feeling stressed regardless of how I decided because deep down I knew it was a crap shoot.  But why not go straight to the ONE who knows everything, created everything and yes has allowed the tough decision to enter into the story?   God understands every circumstance and knows where every life will be 5, 10, 50 years from now.  Asking God is a great place to start.

  • Trust He knows what is best for you (whether or not you “feel” it).  Proverbs 3:5-6
  • Then ask and listen.  It may take a bit to hear him correctly because it takes time to get out of your own way when emotions are involved.
  • Trust, ask, listen THEN obey.  The result will be peace in the midst of the sadness of a tough choice.

I won’t get the time back with my dad or my daughter this Saturday.  The game and the party happen almost at the same hour.  I have to choose.  The Lord knows my daughter, my dad and me.  He knows what is best for each one of us.  When I prayed and listened – I realized I may just be missing my dad’s last birthday party.  But those are my thoughts.  Only God knows, so I will TRUST Him no matter what.  When I called my dad to let him know I would miss his party, his immediate response was, “Pammy, we have had our time together, you don’t get those parenting years back and Abbey needs her mom there.  I love you!”

Peace with tears today.  Thank you God.

Leave a Reply

