Words

My love language (according to the book, The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman) is Words of Affirmation.  I think I cling to words because at an early age I realized how the words we speak to one another are really the true gifts of life.   No one or no circumstance can ever take them away.  When my house burned to the ground on Christmas Eve in 1975 I will always remember my Dad’s first words that night, “Everything we have is gone but nothing we need has been lost – we still have each other.”  When my house exploded in 1983 after a gas leak, I will always remember my Dad’s words, “Here we go again, it’s just stuff, we still have everything we need – each other.”  When all we owned was the clothes on our backs, we still had everything we needed.  Stuff is not eternal – Lesson learned.  Words of life.  I have clung to those words when things have not gone my way, when I wanted more than I had or when I lost something I thought I could not live without.  Coming back to those words always reminds me of what is really important.

Yesterday for my 44th birthday my family gave me words.  They each wrote me letters and notes and all day long I read new thoughts and messages of love.  These are the treasures of my life and I hide them away in my heart.  I need nothing more. No one or no circumstance can take them away.

Words have power.   In the beginning God opened his mouth, spoke and things came to be (Genesis 1:3).  Words have power in our lives.  The bible tells us our words both bless and curse but this should not be (James 3:9-10).  We are spiritual beings, created for eternity and God speaks to us through his Word.  The Word of God has the power to increase our faith just by hearing it (Romans 10:17).  Words have power to give life.   Jesus came and the Word became flesh and dwelt among us (John 1:14).  Putting your trust in Christ and the Word of God will change you forever (2 Cor. 5:17) and once that happens, no one or no circumstance can take that away.

Words…. I love them.

Leave a Reply

